June 25, 2021 Housing Action Coalition

20 Years of Housing Heroes!

The Housing Heroes Awards is annual an event to celebrate the leaders who have made exceptional contributions to creating more housing at all levels of affordability and fostering more diverse, equitable, and inclusive communities across the Bay Area and California.

Former Awardees

  • 2022: Attorney General Rob Bonta, AB 2011 Coalition led by Assemblymemer Buffy Wicks, Student Housing Advocates Michelle Andrews (UC Davis), Zennon Ulyate-Crow (UC Santa Cruz) and Laz Meiman (UC Santa Cruz)
  • 2021: Professor john a. powell, Leslye Corsiglia, DM Development, The Berkeley City Council
  • 2020: Oakland Mayor Libby Schaaf, Carol Galante, Jon Winston & Lisa Spinali
  • 2019: Supervisor Vallie Brown, Sen. Diane Feinstein, Bill Witte, CASA Compact
  • 2018: Sen. Scott Wiener, Sen. Skinner, Assemblymember Chiu, Gabe Metcalf, Posthumous Award, Mayor Ed Lee
  • 2017:Tim Colen and Olson Lee
  • 2016: Supervisor Katy Tang and Kim-Mai Cutler
  • 2015: Supervisor Scott Wiener and Barbara Gualco
  • 2014: John Stewart & Gordon Chin
  • 2013: Mayor Lee & Oz Erickson
  • 2012: Don Falk and Ron Miguel
  • 2011: Treasure Island and Parkmerced Developments: Kofi Bonner, Supervisor David Chiu, Craig Hartman, Seth Mallen, Christopher Meany, Michael Yarne
  • 2010: Hunters Point Shipyard: Sophie Maxwell, Kofi Bonner, Michael Cohen
  • 2009: Planning Commissioners, Ron Miguel & Christina Olague
  • 2008: David Baker & Dan Solomon
  • 2007: Marcia Rosen & Supervisor Chris Daly
  • 2006: Art Evans
  • 2005: Dean Macris
  • 2004: Dianne Spaulding
  • 2003: Supervisor Mark Leno

Housing Action Coalition

The Housing Action Coalition is a member-supported non-profit that advocates for the creation of well designed, well-located housing at all levels of affordability. We believe more housing means more choices and better solutions.

Stay Up to Date

Get weekly updates with housing news, HAC updates, and more!